shifting gears

In the last three days, I have had one glass of wine, one old fashioned, and one beer.  All were tasty (though the chocolate bitters in the old fashioned were very very bitter).  One drink per day.

Now I’m 7 days post-ovulation, and, under the set of rules I’ve devised, today is the day I start pretending I’m pregnant until I’m proven otherwise.  No more alcohol for this kid, and I’ll stop the green tea in the morning too (caffeine, it’s been shown, can affect birth weight if high amounts are consumed in pregnancy, and green tea has been linked to neural defects (though I can’t find the study that says so… several grains of salt on that one)).  Do I think one cup of green tea a day would be bad or harm a pregnancy?  No.  I’m trying to cut out caffeine anyway, so I’ll play along with the restrictions suggested.

I also ate raw cookie dough yesterday, but that one was a slip-up: I forgot about raw egg on the list of restricted foods.  Things that might cause lasting health effects I eschew from ovulation onwards. Things that are metabolized and passed through the placenta (caffeine, alcohol), I see no reason to omit prior to there actually being a placenta (and even here, 7 days is conservative). 

As my LP has been 9-10 days long, these “restricted days” have been few and far between, and I don’t yet mind them. 

This post is brought to you by the letters Zzz and my inability to add 3 hours to my current time accurately, thus making me an hour early for a skype call.  It’s a holiday Monday, but I have work to do, but I would have slept in for longer.  So, 40 minutes of bonus work time, here I come!

2 thoughts on “shifting gears

  1. Turia

    I think the baby doesn’t have a placenta until 7/8 weeks? I know at 6 weeks they’re using the yolk sac. But I assume you’re using a stop point from when it is reasonable to assume implantation.

    You should check out the book “Expecting Better” (I just put it on hold at the library). Apparently she goes through and debunks a lot of the restrictions on pregnant women by actually looking at the ‘science’ behind them. I’m really interested to see what she has to say.

    Reply
  2. labmonkeyftw Post author

    Yah, the placenta is later, but the connection to the maternal bloodstream is around 7-8 days when/if implantation happens. I have seen summaries of ‘Expecting Better’ on a number of blogs of science ladies who think most of the restrictions are bunk (and I tend to agree), but I should read it!
    I’m just being careful. Especially since it’s only 2-4 days every ~40, I don’t think it’s much of a sacrifice. If I’m pregnant, I might revisit some of the restrictions to see if I think they are legitimate for 9 months of my life.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

