Life choices

Pea is sitting across from me looking up which fertility clinics in Hilly Quirky City are covered under his insurance.  I guess we are thinking of switching clinics?  I’m not sure what spurred this, to be honest, as it is midnight on a Saturday.

I have just had a lovely Saturday.  I decided I was nearing burn-out, so I took the day off.  I slept in, read my book, made brunch with Pea, went for a glorious hike along the ocean and up through some bluffs with Pea and two good friends, ate a burrito, watched a movie, and then did my taxes.

record scratch Taxes?!  Yep.  I didn’t want to work, but didn’t want to loaf entirely, so figured this would be a nice mix of productive and hair-pulling-frustrated-agony for my evening.

I have to fill out US and Canadian taxes.  I have a complicated residency status for both this year.  I get paid in large lump sums biannually by the Canadian government, and teeny regular sums by my work in US dollars.  It is a bit of a mess, and the taxes reflect that.  At the end of the day, I am pleasantly surprised, with half of what I owe Canada being covered by my refund from the US, and the remainder being much much lower than I expected (thanks in large part to the utilization of the tens of thousands of education credits my decade in post-secondary schooling accrued). 

If I didn’t live in the US, I would be able to marry Pea.  If I hadn’t accepted this fellowship, I would make the same amount of money and be taxed substantially less.  

I love what I do, and where I live.  I can afford the necessities and then some.  It is a good life.

Tonight the clocks change, don’t forget!

Leave a Reply

