money money money money

It’s not really socially acceptable to talk about money.

I find this weird, and some of my best friends are people who speak candidly and practically about money. It’s something I think about a lot, and it’s refreshing to hear what other people think about money, and what they are doing with their money.

This was going to be a post about my on-going contract negotiations, and on Pea’s delight at realizing that now it will be quite difficult for him to out-earn me four-fold as he does currently, and did while I was a grad student (his text: “yay, now I can be a house-husband!”).  But the post was rambly and lacked a salient point.

Then, out of curiosity, I looked up the US census data on mean household incomes, and boggled at where Pea and I fall currently. And it made negotiations seem silly, and it made my concerns about cost-of-life in different places seem silly, and it mostly made me feel really sad and privileged all at once.

So I think my point is I’m worried about money from an entirely new perspective with these negotiations, and grateful that I won’t have to worry about money the way I am used to worrying about it for the forseeable future.

2 thoughts on “money money money money

  1. Turia

    I LOVE talking to you about money, because you are one of the only people with whom I can have a good conversation about it.

    Q. said something similar yesterday- it was along the lines of, “Given they’re going to have two professional salaries, a difference of x thousand in the final starting salary is neither here nor there. They need to go where the other variables best line up and do what will make them both happy.”

    It will be GOOD not to have to worry about money the way you have had to for so many years. And you and Pea will be in a position to do some GOOD for those who are less fortunate.
    xoxo

    Reply
    1. labmonkeyftw Post author

      I love talking to you about money too! Since you put your money in almost as many pots as I do, but usually with more practicality behind your squirreling!

      Agreed! I’m shifting my focus much more to the start-up package, since that will define what work I can do, and how I can support my students. If school A can come close to, or match, school B’s initial offer, then I am perfectly happy to leave that part of the negotiations off the table – I know that is above their usual starting range, so we will see what they come up with.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

