cakity cake cake

I spent Saturday making cake. Not a cake. Not some of Saturday. I spent Saturday making cake. A goodly chunk of Sunday for decorating on top of that.

photo 1 photo 2

Chocolate cupcakes with vanilla butter cream.

The larger ‘bubbles’ are sixlets, while the smaller ones are a candy sprinkle. Each was hand placed because I’m an idiot and put the duckies in first, negating my ability to dip the cupcakes (the only-bubble ones I did dip for the smaller bubbles).

photo 3

Triple layer carrot cake with cream cheese icing.

I feel rested and refreshed and happy. I really do love the creative side of baking, and the joy of a protocol that always ends in results. At the time, I may have been stressed about ovens and amounts of icing sugar on hand, and I may have totally overdone it (I could have made no cupcakes at all, but they were what I was excited about), but I had fun.

4 thoughts on “cakity cake cake

  1. rainbowgoblin

    Those are adorable! If you ever burn out in academia you could start a bakery. The picture with all the ducks facing the same direction is kind of freaking me out, though, like the robot ducks are coming to get us.

    Reply
    1. labmonkeyftw Post author

      Ha! The duckies came in a small plastic bag, all jumbled together, and my exact reaction was: “oh they are so cute! … they are looking at me. This is creepy, look at all their beady little eyes.” and then I put the bag in the box it came from until I needed them!
      I’d love to open a bakery but it takes me many hours to make one set of something… so I’d need to up my efficiency significantly!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

