filled with whine

Today I am grumpy and tired and out of sorts. Our heat wave has broken, returning us to vaguely chilly and stolidly grey. My ovaries feel … not swollen, not yet. But something – maybe just my ovaries FEEL.

We went climbing yesterday, with our climbing friends. I used an elliptical instead of climbing, thinking that though it is very early for my ovaries to twist or torque, they FEEL, so I figured dropping 12 feet repetitively was probably not an advisable level of impact.

I realized I’ve been backsliding on my diet, which is reasonable given I’ve been on it for three months, but not reasonable given these are the money weeks. So I’m back on the low-carb train, which is what I’ve been doing a bit more poorly with.

I seriously reduced my alcohol intake about four weeks ago and gave it up entirely¬†about two weeks ago. I want a beer. It’s 10 am and I want a beer. Mostly because I realized this morning that if this cycle works, it’ll be a long time before a beer is a thing I can have.

I am filled with whine today. I am not actually uncomfortable. I know that is coming though, and I’m drudgingly grumpy today. I’m going to go make peppermint tea and see if that doesn’t dispel some of this.

4 thoughts on “filled with whine

  1. Turia

    If it becomes relevant, you should read Expecting Better. She concludes that an occasional drink once you’re out of the first trimester is totally fine. So you wouldn’t necessarily be kissing beer goodbye for the whole duration, depending on your comfort level.

    Ovaries that FEEL are annoying, but also a good thing. Hang in there!
    xoxo

    Reply
    1. labmonkeyftw Post author

      Oh, yes, but for at least ~ four months total. Which makes me sound like an alcoholic, but sometimes a beer is just the right thing.
      Estrogen up to 277! So this cycle is way ahead of last time. I would not like 14 days of stimming again, so this is good. Well, at least til we see what they are up to on Thursday.

      Reply
  2. rainbowgoblin

    We did a low carb diet for awhile… Steffen made shepherd’s pie with mashed cauliflower instead of potato tonight, which made me think of that. Try it, it’s delicious, and you can throw in whatever veggies make you happy. Also, Martha Stewart has a Mediterranean grilled chicken lettuce wrap recipe that’s really good.

    Reply
    1. labmonkeyftw Post author

      ooh, those both sound tasty! I find low carb pretty easy, but I like baked goods, so have been back-sliding. I’m allowed 40% carb in my diet, so it’s not super restrictive. But cookies blow a hole in it, my do they ever.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

