Vacation part one

Last night, I walked in the door burdened by the remaining contents of my desk and a sleeping bag a coworker returned in the nick of time.

Pea: “Hello! How are you?”
Me: “Unemployed!”
Pea: “You are not unemployed, you have a job, this is just a break.”
Me: “No one is paying me. I am not anyone’s employee. Unemployed!”

I have moderate goals for this break. I made a list of things I want to get done, and it currently has seven work related things, six home/organization related things, and four fun things on it. I am going to work to fix that ratio!

I’m pretty sure I’m going to get bored in about two days, but so far a quiet day of poker, cleaning, and sorting out some things for Pea’s birthday has been quite nice.

5 thoughts on “Vacation part one

  1. rainbowgoblin

    In between postdocs in Paris and New Zealand I had a month off, and told everyone I met that I was unemployed and homeless. It was a little disingenuous, I think 🙂

    Reply
  2. Pingback: on timing | labmonkey2

Leave a Reply

