Holiday travels

Pea and I are at Parental House #3 on our tour de force of four parental houses.

It has been fun so far, and Ontario has obliged us with a very slow ramp into winter conditions, the first snow only falling yesterday. Still, it is COLD now, and I had to brush off our rental car, and that was definitely a “oh no, what have we done” moment. Except I like winter. I think. It is cold though.

Family is lovely, and there is a whole other post there, but we’re headed out to take a walk and run errands and visit Pea’s ailing grandmother and see some friends for drinks and nibbles and we’re supposed to leave in five minutes and I don’t know where my toothbrush is. So I will go.

For posterity, and so I maybe remember this before it happens AGAIN, putting the three houses with cats in them back-to-back results in me being sick as a dog for over a week. Not ideal. I know better, but somehow my extreme reaction to cats is a thing I manage to block out of all memories until it is in full bloom again, at which point I think to myself “oh right, I was a snotty, coughing, asthmatic woebegon cranky a**hole last time too, I should try to avoid this”. The allergy medication is not cutting it, and as a result I am both very ill AND dopey-headed from the meds. Delight.

2 thoughts on “Holiday travels

  1. rainbowgoblin

    You poor thing. I remember you saying you grew up thinking you weren’t good at sports, then left home and suddenly your lungs started working and you turned out to actually be an athlete. You should make your parents exchange their cats for the hypoallergenic versions.

    Reply
    1. labmonkeyftw Post author

      Yes! And then I moved to California and I’m not allergic to its flora, so I had nearly four years of blissful absence of allergies and asthma. I AM allergic to Ontario, in general, so we’ll just have to see how that goes. I am feeling slightly better today – this house is very low-cat, as the one elderly cat is not usually here, and she stays in one spot, sleeping.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

