compartmentalization

My day thus far.

Wake up early, feeling pretty gross from my red-wine-and-crying-while-working jag last night.

Get to work a touch early. Field emails from prospective students, my proposed collaborators, family, and assistive communication experts.

Participate in first safety committee meeting. Inspect four labs. One has no way to turn off the gas, which is v. bad. Report this.

Meet my mother, in town to help care for my nephew while sister is in ICU with my father, for lunch. Learn my step-father is, right at this moment, having an emergency blood transfusion and is possibly bleeding internally (and possibly has been bleeding internally for weeks?!). He now has a new doctor, so hopefully this will be followed up on.

Return to office.

Write 3 sentences of grant application.

Reply to texts from sister about worsening condition of my father (pneumonia is back!).

Write 3 sentences of grant application.

Reply to texts from sister about increasingly worsening condition of my father (now with more fever!).

Stare at grant application.

Ask sister to cease updates unless they are a new ball game. Feel guilty. Write blog.

Leave a Reply

