Interpretations of Pea

Pea on new fertility insurance offered by Golden Company: “It gives us another 20K lifetime, I think, or close to that?”

Nice fertility benefit company rep on phone this morning: “You get 3 bundles per lifetime. Full IVF counts as one bundle. FETs count as a sixth of a bundle. An embryo banking cycle counts as half of a bundle. Embryo storage for three years is included. PGS screening is automatically included.”*

Me (internally): Pea!! Good lord, man. (externally): thank you very much, that’s great information.

We won’t be able to use this unless it all comes with us to Canada (which I doubt since health care is handled so differently here). I do think it means we should look into the Golden Company coverage in Canada since I’ve been assuming it won’t really exist, and now I think otherwise.

So our FET in April will be free.  I’m still sure this isn’t a great idea given all the other nonsense in my life, but I’m also still sure that there is no time like the present to have a baby if I want all of my family to meet one.

 

* We should all get jobs at Golden Company. I’m just saying. My cushy professor gig gives me $3K in fertility drug coverage, and that’s it.

7 thoughts on “Interpretations of Pea

    1. labmonkeyftw Post author

      I know, it is truly ridiculous coverage, and I’m sad we’re probably only going to be able to use it for this one, relatively cost-light procedure. Such is life, but I’m still pleased.

      Reply
  1. rainbowgoblin

    That’s very interesting. I know Golden Company has a reputation for treating its employees very well, which is a sensible strategy for getting the most talent. But thinking about the economics of this particular benefit: this means that either they have a disproportionate number of employees who care about fertility, or at least that they have enough employees who care enough about fertility that they’d consider taking their talents elsewhere (or freelancing) otherwise. I suspect also that a disproportionate number of their employees are men, too (and at least some single), so this is all very interesting.

    Reply
    1. labmonkeyftw Post author

      Yes. predominantly male and frequently single. Their worker population is also quite young, which I find curious. Although at least one of their higher-ups has used reproductive technologies, so that might have been the spur for it? or they are so giant that they can get great group rates for luxury services?
      I find it confusing, but I am also going to make use of it!

      Reply
      1. rainbowgoblin

        I was wondering if they’re so huge they don’t have to worry about group rates, they just pay for it directly when it’s needed… That way their young, single, male workers don’t cost them anything anyway.

      2. labmonkeyftw Post author

        Maybe! They do love their buffet-style options, and that would make a lot of sense.

        Also I don’t know why I can’t reply to your comment directly. Maybe there is a chain limit?

  2. Turia

    Wowza! Definitely look into Golden Company’s insurance north of the border. The free PGS is amazing.

    Also, it may be worth looking into/making contact with a clinic in new city (I know- another thing for the to do list). I say this only because I just saw my dental hygienist and she was telling me how the wait lists for IVF at her clinic exploded in January because that’s when the provincial coverage kicked in. So it may be worth getting in with a clinic if you anticipate ever having reason to want a provincially funded IVF cycle- the clinics get the money quarterly so they have a quota. Obviously if you want to pay for it all yourself you can pretty much cycle whenever (again, depends on Golden Company).

    I am not at all being negative about the FET- just aware that sometimes one needs to think long term as well as immediate term.
    xoxo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

