how to make an anxious academic happy in five easy* steps

  1. Agree with them that the past two months have been intense.
  2. Give them homework in the form of books to read.
  3. Suggest acupuncture while simultaneously predicting they might not believe in acupuncture.
  4. Explain your qualifications include a Ph.D. in CBT specific for anxiety, which is exactly what they wanted.
  5. Have an office a five minute walk from their office, over a little bridge and pond.

I went to counseling. It was good. I will go back.

The Occupational Health office offers therapy as semi-acute care, so I get 8-10 sessions** after which I would likely need to go find someone off campus should I choose to continue***.
* Getting a Ph.D. is not easy, but telling someone about yours is.
** “Probably 10”, she said, looking over her page of notes
*** “We can put in a requisition for another 8 sessions for a different topic. For instance, if this is crisis, then we could ask for anxiety next. We can see how it goes.”

2 thoughts on “how to make an anxious academic happy in five easy* steps

  1. rainbowgoblin

    Strangely, this reminds me of that yoga teacher who induced uncontrollable laughter when we accidentally make eye contact while she was talking about reversing the direction of blood flow. But, you know, the opposite. Reversing the flow of academic skepticism.

    Reply
    1. labmonkeyftw Post author

      Oh goodness, I remember that! It’s one of the things I point to in describing what I can’t stand about certain yoga teachers. Shooting energy out my fingertips….
      I am skeptical, but I am willing to include examining that skepticism in my mindfulness practice (I read the first chapter of a book today, see how much I’ve learned! ha ha ha sigh)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

