armies

I need to perhaps get better at saying no. It is so hard to turn down free labour though!

I now have seven students who will be volunteering with me come Spring semester and one who will be working for me (he’s the only one who asked to be paid. Innovation U. students are weird).

Seven is probably too many, but I’m also betting on at least two of them backing out or coming so infrequently as to be useless, at which point I will let them go.

I do, however, need to start coming up with things for this army of inexperienced students to DO.  Planning ahoy!

2 thoughts on “armies

  1. rainbowgoblin

    Steffen says it’s good that you’ve learned this lesson so early. Be forewarned: he’s been saying he needs to get better at saying no since he started, and for the last several performance reviews his department head and other senior faculty have been telling him he’s taking on too many students. Just say no! It doesn’t matter if they’re free, most students will use up time and effort and not actually produce anything… Don’t make the assumption that your performance as a student is any reflection of that of other students. Wow, this is negative. I’m not even feeling cranky.

    Reply
    1. labmonkeyftw Post author

      Not too negative, I totally agree with you! I’ve been SUPER picky about taking on graduate students for these reasons. Summer volunteers when I currently have no warm bodies in my lab is a different thing – I need to get some things done this summer and without volunteers I’ll have no one! Seven may still be too many – I’m banking on only 5 showing up, and between them being the work of training 5 people for the output of ~1.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

