bump update #3

How far along? Ten weeks two days

Vital stats? I don’t know my weight, again. I’m ok with this, especially given how much food* I ate at the conference this week.

Sleep: I had a rough week of sleep, in part because I spent four nights in a hotel where I couldn’t find a reasonable pillow conformation and each day I had to get up for something specific, slightly early, which always makes me sleep a bit more lightly in fear of missing my alarm. I slept in my own bed last night and I feel 900x better today.

How am I feeling physically? Better. I’m still pretty tired, but not quite as draggy (I’m deciding this because I was actually about the same amount of tired, but at a super busy conference with long full days, and I didn’t die). I’m less drooly. I’m less smell-sensitive, though still with a superior sniffer: it just seems disconnected from my gag reflex. Naturally, every time I feel better, I assume the worst, although at ten weeks it’s reasonable for some of these symptoms to be abating a bit. I get dizzy if hungry, and still get nauseous if I get too hungry, and I’m peeing a lot, and always once a night unless I pee twice right before sleeping. I also hate the idea of food, all food except fruit. If food is in front of me, though, I will eat anything and everything in large quantities. Just don’t ask me to decide what’s for dinner.

How am I feeling emotionally? I had some worried moments this week. A lessening of symptoms. A low, soft, very open cervix yesterday (which Google says is normal-ish, but I am still worrying). I’m feeling much less confident about this, and I didn’t feel confident to begin with. However, my emotional fortitude has also dropped dramatically, right on schedule (week 10: you might be feeling irritable and highly emotional). I’ve wept at some commercials, and gotten really angry with people behind counters for no reason (which I have not expressed, because even when ragingly furious, I am not a jackass. Also, importantly, they had not done anything wrong. They were just standing there and I was hungry).

Best moment? The last progesterone IM injection, I guess. I think I prefer them to the suppositories, but Pea was really cute with his excitement over being done. He had a whole “no more needles” thing going until I noted that I’m on lovenox, likely til two weeks postpartum. The critical difference being I give those needles to myself (and they are very little in comparison).

Medications: Progesterone, 200 mg 3x day vaginal suppositories. Metformin, 500 mg 3x day. Lovenox, 40 mg sub-cutaneous injection nightly. Baby aspirin, 1 pill (81 g) nightly. Prenatal vitamin in the am, vitamin D and calcium in the evening to ward off blood-thinner related osteoporosis.

What I miss? Frisbee. It is prime season now, and I’m sad I’m not playing. I *could* play, but I started this pregnancy massively out of shape, so a sprint-based sport that, though officially non-contact, often entails collisions just seems like a poor idea given how hard-fought this pregnancy has been. Running in general. Being fit**. I joined a facebook group for fit mamas (their name), and am hopeful that will encourage me to get moving. They are all trying to figure out how to do the iron mans they signed up for, while I’m the one going “I’m going to walk today! More than a few feet! Woo!”. Ha ha, I’ve checked my pride at the door on this one.

What I’m looking forward to? A quiet weekend to catch up and recharge. My physical next week to confirm everything is ok or to end the suspense if not.

What have I done this week for the pregnancy? Nothing except adamantly refuse alcohol when it was offered aggressively.

Milestones? I’ve always been creeped out by the idea of babies having fingernails in utero, and, assuming all is well, this baby now has fingernails. Gross. Also it is the size of a poker chip or a Ferrero Rocher (I found a non-fruit-based baby size tracker that seems more accurate and less variable. The food one said last week was a grape or olive and this week was a kumquat (which can easily be smaller than a grape..). I disliked their lack of empiricism.)

 

* food = cheese.

** Note: I must have more energy if I’m yearning for activity rather than my bed, all day, all the time.

6 thoughts on “bump update #3

  1. rainbowgoblin

    Oh, man, a kumquat! Erin thought it was hilarious when Tommy was kumquat-sized (I was still living with her at the time… I think she just thought it sounded dirty). As for fingernails, I’m sure you aren’t THAT creeped out, but just in case: unless they’re somehow more developed than newborn fingernails, they basically don’t count (Tommy didn’t even have toenails when he was born, except on the big toe. His fingernails were long, but so soft we could just sort of peel them instead of cutting them).

    Reply
    1. labmonkeyftw Post author

      I objectively know that the baby is not clawing at my insides, but it’s an image I find hard to discredit…. knowing they are wimpy is helpful!

      Reply
      1. rainbowgoblin

        You didn’t read the Twilight books, did you? Feeling more than a little embarrassed just now…

  2. Jenny F. Scientist

    I hope you feel well enough to engage in exercise, but I’m here to say there is no shame in feeling too tired/crappy to move faster than a gentle stroll (see also, baby #3 of mine; nausea until 36 weeks! None exercise!).

    Reply
    1. labmonkeyftw Post author

      I have released my sense of obligation on this score, and am just seeing what I actually feel like doing. I would like to be more active than I have been in New City (even without the passenger tagging along), so I’m hopeful I’ll ease into a busier routine. This week has gone better than last!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

