bump update#4

How far along? Eleven weeks two days

Vital stats? +2 lbs (some of which I am sure is because my lower intestine seems to have abdicated its responsibilities, and some of which I’m sure is legitimate gain now).

Sleep: I’m having a hard time falling asleep, and as a result am peeing again before sleep, which means I almost make it to my alarm before having to pee again, which means I don’t fall asleep again in the morning. So it has been a few short nights in a row. I’m hobbled by the progesterone suppositories – I take them 8 hours apart, so if I want to go to bed early, I am forced to choose between sleep and keeping to a drug regimen. Soon these stupid capsules will be done with. Soon.

How am I feeling physically? Better still – much less tired during the day, and more energy. Nausea popped up again at the end of the week, with a rough day on Monday (but still no vomiting). I went to prenatal yoga for the first time, and have walked home from work this week once so far (despite saying I was doing that last week, really I only managed once). Prenatal yoga was filled with the ghosts of pregnancy future – I was by far the least pregnant person there. I guess because first tri you either (a) feel like shit, (b) don’t want to be seen in public at a pregnancy oriented activity, or (c) feel ok and have not switched to an adapted exercise. I’m out of shape, so I figured I’d start where I meant to continue. I also know almost no one in New City, so it was low risk. It was a nice class, and I like the instructor, so I’m planning to go back. The timing is not ideal (7:45-9pm), but I do really like this studio.

Also, I am starting to show. Not to anyone who isn’t looking closely, that will take some time I think. But I can feel my uterus just above the pubic bone, and where I have my little ring-o-flab at my navel, now my lower abdomen is poking out to meet it. I still fit into most of my pants (2 of 3, also I need more pants), but I don’t think that will be true for too much longer. Turia has a bag of maternity wear for me, so I’ll try to get that in the next week or so (and squeeze wee P. and bigger E. while I’m at it).

How am I feeling emotionally? I’m not a pregnancy wreck, but I’m definitely more emotional than normal. Easier to tear up, easier to get irritated. I’m not too wildly irrational though. My counsellor wants me working on relaxation, so I’m going to try to focus on that for next week. I do feel like I’m running at a much lower rev than normal though, so that is likely good.

 Best moment? Oh man, there were some good moments this week. I had my physical this morning, and my doctor found the baby’s heartbeat in under 5 seconds – nice and steady in the 160s. Hearing that swish-swish was amazing, I teared up when getting dressed afterwards. My niece arrived into the world safely, and I got to hold her when she was only a few hours old. Father’s Day came and went and both of my dads are alive and generally well, and I gave them each skype tours of our new house. I gave in to my first craving and had poutine for lunch yesterday and it was so good it manages to feature here among those other three amazing events.

Medications: Progesterone, 200 mg 3x day vaginal suppositories. Metformin, 500 mg 3x day. Lovenox, 40 mg sub-cutaneous injection nightly. Baby aspirin, 1 pill (81 g) nightly. Prenatal vitamin in the am, vitamin D and calcium in the evening to ward off blood-thinner related osteoporosis.

What I miss? Enjoying a variety of foods. I’m ok to eat just about anything, but I really only want to eat carbs and cheese and fruit. Anything else is a bit of a struggle. We made a delicious stir fry with tofu and snap peas and all sorts of other veggies, and I’ve eaten it twice and both times have not been super fun.

What I’m looking forward to? The ultrasound next Tuesday and the nuchal testing. Looking forward with some trepidation, obviously, but still, I’d love to see our wee one again, and the more we can know about this, the better.

What have I done this week for the pregnancy? Gotten more exercise, which I will continue. I also, despite the poutine, have cleaned up my diet a bit – more veggies, more whole grains, and not just what seems palatable or easy.

Milestones? Hearing the heartbeat!!! Yay!! The baby is the size of a lego minifig right now, which still seems so teeny, but also so much bigger than the poppy seed we started with. In round-object terms, it’s the size of a golf ball.

 

Leave a Reply

