more than the Monday blues

In brief.

  • my father is in surgery, for his diaphragm pacer. Apparently it was delayed due to the intense thunderstorm that swept through and destabilized power/ventilation in the OR (thankfully, before surgery started).
  • I’m once again rebutting the Angry Old Male Professor who hates my fancy paper with a passion, and is taking his vehemence on tour across the country (he is also Very Famous, so gets to speak at many places). I have tried to address his concerns directly with him, but he is not interested in discussion or listening, and his concerns are off-topic to my paper, making it difficult to address. In essence, we say “while our one figure shows A, it is important to note that our other data shows B, and at this time there is no support for either of these models in either of our analyses, which makes this whole debate about things that happened literally 3 billion years ago super interesting and deserving of more study”, and he says “A is the devil, A is evil, all of this is WRONG WRONG WRONG”. I’m paraphrasing, but that is actually about the level of irrational anger being heaped my way. I hear about this over twitter, and do my best to provide reasoned responses in 140 characters or less. Interestingly, today a different Very Famous Male Professor has joined the defense, which is appreciated.
  • I woke up with a churning stomach and taut, burning uterus sensation, which has not really abated. It might all be heartburn, but as my hair also started falling out in small clumps this weekend, I’m worried (progesterone drop? iron deficiency? general malaise of pregnancy?). I see my OB tomorrow, so that is reassuring.

In summary, I’m worried, angry, my stomach hurts, and it’s only Monday. Boo.

2 thoughts on “more than the Monday blues

  1. rainbowgoblin

    After Twitter stalking you to figure out who Angry Old Guy is I have only this to say: that man’s ego is so much larger than his interest in discovery that he should no longer be allowed to call himself a scientist. May you always be excited by new work that challenges your own discoveries. That is the nature of a true scientific mind.

    Reply
    1. labmonkeyftw Post author

      I think that is one of the things I find most disappointing, that this luminary has become an entrenched person. I sincerely hope it never happens to me – challenging paradigms is the business we are in!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

