bump update, anatomy scan edition

How far along? Nineteen weeks, 3 days.

Vital stats? +8.7 lbs, up 1.6 from last week (yikes! An inactive, hungry week! Also a late weigh-in by three days, but still. Maybe time to abstain from a dessert or two.). This week and next are meant to be growth-spurts, so I’m not very worried, more just aware that I have not been eating well nor moving much (one of which will change next week while conferencing)

Sleep: Nightmarish, waking at least once a night utterly unsettled or scared. A symptom of stress and grief, and sleeping in a strange environment, and pregnancy, all rolled into one. I’m not too tired though, just tired of the discomfort of the nightmares.

How am I feeling physically? Good, still. Still stuffy. Energy is ok. Hungry ALL the time.

How am I feeling emotionally? Compartmentalized? If I look too closely at things, it will all fall apart, so I’m boxing stuff up again. So I feel fine, but am aware it’s not a particularly legitimate sensation. It was hard to be home, and wonderful to be home, with my mom and my step-dad. I have waves of sadness for all they are going through, and waves of anxiety about making sure my mother is not alone when my step-father does eventually pass away.

 Best moment? Seeing Spud on the screen at our ultrasound today (anatomy scan). Reading over the tech’s shoulder to see a reassuring list of “normal”s down the various categories*. Feeling Spud from the outside, a few times now.

Medications: Lovenox, 40 mg sub-cutaneous injection nightly. Baby aspirin, 1 pill (81 g) nightly. Prenatal vitamin in the am, vitamin D and calcium in the evening.

What I miss? The really good guacamole from our local grocery in Hilly Quirky (we’re making tacos for friends tonight, and are having to **gasp!** make it ourselves! A glass of wine when it all just seems a bit much.

What I’m looking forward to? I’d say the conference next week, but I’m feeling a bit overwhelmed about it. Ditto buying a car, or a crib, or a stroller, or any of the other things that I will be very happy to have, but cannot really fathom finding time to go purchase.

Tacos tonight, and seeing good friends and their passel of red-headed children. The next Laurie R. King novel in the series I’m reading, available today off my holds list at the library.

What have I done this week for the pregnancy? Nothing. Pea and I had decided to wait until after the scan to buy anything, and I was out of town for the majority of the week.

Milestones? If I am to be induced at 39 weeks, then at 19+3, I’m officially half-way through this pregnancy. Which seems fast? Yet I can see how much has happened in the time since we tossed Spud in embryonic form into my uterus on the way out of Hilly Quirky.

 * Of note from the scan, I have a low-lying placenta (1.3 cm from the cervix), and there was definitely a shadow or cyst on the baby’s brain. Having googled to confirm what I thought, both of these things usually resolve, and likely mean I’ll get another scan to see Spud again before birth. I’m not going to worry, as the vast majority of both of those end up being non-issues (and also no one has actually told me this yet, I just stole the information in the ultrasound room).

Some pics of Spud, a profile view, and then a wee foot.

IMG_0629

IMG_0628

2 thoughts on “bump update, anatomy scan edition

  1. rainbowgoblin

    Half way! I need to start knitting. You should order everything you need on the internet. I suppose the time-consuming part is probably the research, so internet shopping doesn’t help much with that. But don’t spend too much time on research: whatever you think is an important feature now will no doubt change (I bought a stroller that was good for jogging. Hah.) Also: what a lovely spine!

    Reply
    1. labmonkeyftw Post author

      Yes yes to internet shopping! I think that will be the only way, especially since I don’t have a car. Except there are a few things I’d like to actually test out – strollers, for the main part.
      Spud was very photogenic, except when he/she turned to face the wand and gave us the freaky skeletor view of a fetus. Fetus skulls being not-very-padded at this point.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

