for the night is dark and full of terrors

Dear Brain,

I know we are stressed. I know we have done a poor job of carving out time or emotional space to grieve for our family’s losses. I know teaching, despite not being objectively scary, is freaking the living daylights out of us on an interesting primal level.

I get it. We’re at high rev right now.

I don’t think we need to have one nightmare a night in which a different, currently-living member of our family dies each night. I really don’t. We should stop that.

love,

the rest of a progressively-more-tired-and-unsettled labmonkey

4 thoughts on “for the night is dark and full of terrors

  1. Turia

    Ugh. I am only seeing this now, so I hope things are better now that you are teaching. I have been having a lot of dreams this month too and generally feeling more emotional about things. I think it is because I now have some time and space in which I can grieve, so feelings are starting to come up to the surface.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

