bump update, part the next

How far along? Twenty-seven weeks. Which, by math, is the third tri (40/3 = 13.3 weeks per trimester). Which, by most charts online, is the last week of the second trimester. I like math.

Vital stats? +15.7 lbs, so +1 lb from last week. Back on track, and still a reasonable gain. This last pound seems all belly though, as now it is further protruding than my boobs.

Sleep: Back to being disjointed. I was up coughing a few nights, and disrupted sleep one night with both a rib cramp and a charley horse. I really notice if I lose my hip pillow early in the night, as I will be quite sore the next day. I am getting better at keeping it through the night though.

How am I feeling physically? Rough, again! Last week I was so chipper about being healthy, but I think it must have been a lie even then. I had a stuffy nose, which I thought might just be the rhinitis back, but since then it has bloomed into this gross chest cold, so I think I’ve just been sick the whole time*. I have no energy and no breath. I’m giving the cough until Friday to significantly improve, and then will go to the clinic, as it feels and sounds like bronchitis right now. Spud seems to alternate sitting on my bladder with wedging up under my ribs, neither of which are comfortable. S/he is at least not big enough yet to do both at once.

How am I feeling emotionally? I was ALL over the place this week. Massively stressed out about the weekend in Capital City (which went well, aside from my insane allergic reaction to a less-than-clean parent’s house). Worried about a few grant deadlines. Worried that Pea is worried about work and learning to drive. Besotted with Spud and Pea and their hilarious dynamic. Just feeling so overwhelmed and sad a lot of the time. Panicky about a talk I was meant to give tomorrow**.

 Best moment? An afternoon in the park with my family, including my father (his second trip out of hospital bounds since February). Bittersweet, though, as he would not normally be just watching his grandson play, but would be joining in. I had spearheaded getting this outing organized, and had been really worried about it, but it went very smoothly and Dad was delighted with the change of scene. The more normal-ish things he can do, the better, but the more normal-ish things we do, the harder it is to ignore that they are normal-ish and not normal. So it was a great moment, and a fun few hours, but it was also really really hard (for me, but I think also for my dad).  His situation will be a million tiny frustrations and a million tiny heartbreaks, forever, and that reality is a hard one to swallow for me.

Medications: Lovenox, 40 mg sub-cutaneous injection nightly. Baby aspirin, 1 pill (81 g) nightly. Prenatal vitamin in the am, iron supplement at lunch, vitamin D and calcium in the evening. I have a hard time with the iron and the calcium and my daily steamed milk and keeping them all segregated, so have sometimes taken the iron with tea/empty stomached – this is a bad idea, and I must stick to having it with lunch.

What I miss? I miss saying goodbye to someone and not worrying it is the last time I see them whole. Pea, every morning. My mother, heading out from our house last week. My sister and her clan, on their way back to the Big Smoke from Capital City. Like I said, I’m all over the place this week, and generally I am not ok. I am catastrophisizing, and borrowing worry, and generally a wreck. I am outwardly keeping it mostly together, but I don’t really know why this week of all weeks I’ve hit what seems to be a limit on coping. An ungluing in the absence of any actual crisis? Hormones on the ramp up? Unclear.

What I’m looking forward to? Pea and I have booked a mini-break, Saturday night in a B&B not too far away, but near some nice hiking trails. We shall hike for a while, and leaf peep, and have a night away just us.

What have I done this week for the pregnancy? I booked the scan to follow up on my low lying placenta. We have realized we need to get our sh*t together, but have been a bit swamped with visitors and travel.

Milestones? Third tri, I say. Which is terrifying, and a good spur for both Pea and I to get a move on with some planning.

 

* i.e., since July.
** except my car was broken into this morning, and my wallet stolen, so I had to cancel – no way to drive into the US of A with a busted up car and without ID or a credit card to rent a different one. Terrible timing and more bad luck. I’ve spent the day on the phone or standing in line to have various cards cancelled and reissued so I can be a real person again. Nothing time and money can’t fix, but jarring and annoying and not at all what I needed. Plus I was excited about this talk – a department I like, in an Ivy League school.

Leave a Reply

