bump update, part the next

How far along? Twenty-eight weeks, four days.

Vital stats? +15.7 lbs, +0 lb from last week (measured on Tuesday for 28 weeks proper). My OB scale has me higher than this again, but it is hard to compare.

Sleep: Generally good. No coughing at night, no waking up to pee yet. I’m waking up really early most days (an hour to 30 min before my alarm), and running through the day’s to-dos, which is not conducive to getting back to sleep or just snoozling. Other than that though, this has been a strong week for sleep.

How am I feeling physically? Relatively healthy, although I still have a cough. I don’t FEEL sick though, which is a nice change. My right ribs still hurt fairly often. I’m still feeling pretty balanced, and generally ok, though I am worried I am in poor shape for labour. Trying to remember to do kegels, and trying to carve out time to work out next week, now that my respiratory system isn’t at half-capacity anymore.

How am I feeling emotionally? Better than last week, thank goodness. I am noticing that I am definitely more emotional than normal (but given normal is essentially robot mode, I’m not super emotional). I’ll get a catch in my throat at things that I would normally feel distance with, or sympathy but not an emotional response. I don’t think I’ve gotten more irrational, but should perhaps ask Pea.

 Best moment? A lovely Saturday out hiking and mini-breaking with Pea.  One funny Spud moment, where during a departmental meeting where the Dean was presenting a serious and important topic, Spud decided to throw a giant dance party. Which is now visible from the outside, if not very. After about three minutes of this, the person next to me leaned over and asked if that (*broadly gestures at stomach*) was the baby. I nodded, and whispered “they are very excited about this budget model”. Funny that this is visible now, but also a bit distracting! Movements are much stronger now.

Medications: Lovenox, 40 mg sub-cutaneous injection nightly. Baby aspirin, 1 pill (81 g) nightly. Prenatal vitamin in the am, iron supplement at lunch, vitamin D and calcium in the evening. Often iron is once every two days – my OB had said once a day or once every two days, so I aim for about 5 per week.

What I miss? My old bank cards! Clearly not pregnancy related, but I’d managed to memorize my bank card numbers, and the new ones are annoying. This is very small. I had a hard time thinking of something I miss this week.

What I’m looking forward to? Seeing Spud at the ultrasound this afternoon (to confirm confirm placental position, and to check growth).  My uterus is measuring slightly behind (27 weeks instead of 28, which, given how inaccurate a measure this is, is not a real worry to me) – my OB wanted to keep the growth ultrasound only because I’m a wee bit small AND anti-phospholipid syndrome can lead to issues with the placenta and small babies. So to be on the safe side we’ll go have a look and a measure, and Pea and I will get to see Spud, which is fun!  Also, if anything IS going poorly, better to know. I honestly think I’m just measuring small because I’m tall, but we’ll see.

What have I done this week for the pregnancy? We went to our first of two prenatal classes, which covered ergonomics in the third tri, recognizing early labour, actual labour, and birth. Pea and I agree birth seems intense.

I came out of it ADAMANTLY against having an epidural, but for reasons I recognize are not legitimate. The video on epidurals showed the insertion into the spine, which gave me a mini-panic attack about my dad, and then had the woman handed a bipper with which to control the dose, identical to the morphine button my step-father was tied to for his last month of life. I reacted with equal parts revulsion and hysteria (on the inside only, from the outside I probably looked mildly concerned, which is a reasonable reaction to a birth video when one is pregnant). So… I will have to unpack all of that in the next few weeks, as if induction is FAST or labour is realllly long, I can see wanting an epidural if only to help avoid a c-section.

I filed my leave paperwork with the department, so that is mostly sorted. There is some other paperwork surrounding paying up my retirement plan so it’s not penalized, and going to get EI once officially on leave, but the main declaration has been made.

We still are not much further on the nursery, which we might have a chance to work on this weekend, but Pea’s parents are in town, so we might not. We’ll figure it all out, I’m sure.

Milestones? Today was the half-way mark for lectures for my course. Not a pregnancy milestone, but a big one for me. It is going well, their midterm is next week, and I’m so far still above water. Not bad.

4 thoughts on “bump update, part the next

  1. Jenny F. Scientist

    I had an epidural and pitocin with Child #2, after having contractions every 10-15 minutes for SIX DAYS, and it definitely a) was great, I could still feel my legs and move and b) helped my exhausted self avoid a c section (which are great to have around, I’m 100% on board with modern medicine, but I prefer to avoid major surgery if possible). Like a lot of things about birth, it was less scary at the moment than thinking about it in advance.

    Birth is indeed very intense. And kind of gross. But baby! Babies are also kind of gross, but the cute makes up for it. 🙂

    Reply
    1. labmonkeyftw Post author

      My birth plan remains “have baby, everyone survives”, so I’m open to just about anything, and six days of contractions would demand relief of some form! Goodness.
      I figure we’ll just see what happens, and go with what is needed. If Spud ends up in distress, c-section away! If I’m toast, epidural! I’m not actually against an epidural, I just reacted very very emotionally to the video of medical intervention equipment.

      Reply
  2. rainbowgoblin

    Oh, I have lots of ideas about epidural! First, it’s not all that freaky actually getting one, but make sure Pea knows he should let the hospital staff know if the level gets too low. Anyway… I had one with Tommy (induced) and ended up having a c-section when his heart rate was too slow. It’s not clear that the two things are related, of course. With Miso (not induced) I totally had that movie experience of not needing an epidural until I was fully dilated and it was too late. I think if I had it to do again I’d probably do a home birth to avoid the “temptation” of an epidural, but I can’t honestly say I’m being at all rational about that.

    In short: I’m completely ambivalent about epidural. But c-sections are best avoided (way easier in the moment, for me at least, but riskier and longer recovery and… Less satisfying? I guess I’m a bit ambivalent about this too).

    Reply
    1. labmonkeyftw Post author

      I didn’t know Miso was a VBAC – it is nice that that worked. My birth plan was, and remains, “have baby, everyone survives”. So I’d say I’m also ambivalent about all of it. I just had some knee-jerk emotional reactions to the video after my summer of watching interventions in other contexts, I don’t think it changes that if I or Spud needs some intervention, we’ll go for it.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

