bump update, part the next

How far along? Twenty-nine weeks four days.

Vital stats? +18.3 lbs, +2.6 lbs from last week, after a rather long plateau. I think this is still ok. I am still aiming for around 25-30 lb gain total, and also assuming that, despite the holidays, month nine will be lower gains because of a smaller stomach – I’m already noticing a decreased capacity on that front.

Sleep: Pretty solid, although I’ve woken up with a sore lower back the past two days, and I’m still waking up early on days when something big is happening.

How am I feeling physically? Ok, I STILL have a cough. But it is less of a bronchitis cough and more a more-frequent-than-normal-throat-clearing. So I think that is progress. I also think I over did it this week, with three very busy and long days, which resulted in my feeling very pregnant and tired and slow by Thursday this week. I did not manage to work out this week, but I was a lot more generally active than usual, and then was just too tired.

How am I feeling emotionally? Not too bad. Stressed this week with work requirements, but feeling generally ok about the pregnancy, and not feeling as emotional as the past two updates.

 Best moment? Sunday morning, I made Pea a coffee, and then hopped in the shower. I came out and sat down on my side of the bed in flagrante to ponder what to wear to an opera matinee. A sleepy, snoozing Pea scooted over and rested his head on my leg, head against my belly with a sleepy smile. Spud ponked him once, and me a few times, and it suddenly hit me that this is my family. Our family. I am not one to be suffused with love and joy, but there I was, suffused.

Medications: Lovenox, 40 mg sub-cutaneous injection nightly. Baby aspirin, 1 pill (81 g) nightly. Prenatal vitamin in the am, iron supplement at lunch, vitamin D and calcium in the evening.

What I miss? I feel like I went from cute now-obvious bump to mondo-in-the-way bump in about two weeks. I know there is a long way to go, but I miss the second trimester already! I’ve hit my belly with a bathroom cubicle door twice now, and it is getting harder to put on socks standing up, or to pick things up off the ground. This is more a “winter is coming” kind of issue, since I know it will only get dramatically worse.

What I’m looking forward to? Pea and I have carved out most of the weekend to actually get organized for a registry/wish list, though less for gifts and more to get ourselves organized. I am starting to get twitchy about how poorly organized we are, so our shopping/researching plan coupled with getting more baby laundry done and possibly clearing some of my office boxes out of the nursery will make me feel better.

What have I done this week for the pregnancy? We finished our pre-natal classes, which this week covered newborn care, and decisions you need to make in the hospital, and that sort of thing. Neither of us found these classes hugely useful, but I think there were enough tidbits sprinkled throughout to make us think it was a reasonable use of our time.

I got my flu shot at the early “high risk” clinic. I signed all the paperwork and then took off my coat and the volunteers both went “oooooooooooh”. Nice to know my risk group is identifiable, ha ha.

Milestones? This is a middle of the road week for milestones, I think. Solidly third tri now regardless of your source. Less than ten weeks to go given I’m a 39-week induction, well into double digits of days left. Progressing.

3 thoughts on “bump update, part the next

  1. rainbowgoblin

    Slip-on shoes… Or velcro.
    I was told prenatal classes are more about meeting other families who have babies almost exactly the same age than anything else. Maternity leave kind of makes you lose your mind, and the days you’re getting together with the prenatal class buddies can help you keep it together. We’ve stayed in touch with two other families (well, tgree, really, but the third moved to Kenya), and it’s nice to see their kids going through exactly the same stages as Tommy. They’re the families we actually connected with, but we never would have met otherwise.
    Otherwise, yeah, those classes were pretty tedious.

    Reply
    1. labmonkeyftw Post author

      My shoes are slip on! Which is great. Socks are still an issue though.
      I liked one set of parents-to-be at our classes, but foolishly did not get their contact information. I might see them in the hospital, they are due the day before I might be induced.. so we shall see.
      I need to start going to yoga, or maybe sign up for some mama and baby classes once Spud arrives, as I am low on new mama friends at the moment, and think they will be valuable for the boring winter months.

      Reply
      1. rainbowgoblin

        Go to mama and baby yoga, too! I had to be at least 6 weeks post-delivery for my mama and baby yoga classes, but realistically you won’t have time for mama friends before that anyway. Mama and baby yoga is THE BEST. Your body will need it, and it’s adorable, and although there’s always a baby screaming, it won’t always be your baby.

Leave a Reply

