bump update, part the weepy

How far along? Thirty weeks and five days, so this update will count for 30 weeks and 31.

Vital stats? +19 lbs, +0.7 lbs from last week. Stats from my OB appointment at 30 weeks exactly: blood pressure 102/56, weight +24 lbs (they are consistently 6 lbs higher than my bathroom scale. Morning vs. evening, and clothing are the culprits I think). No protein in urine. Spud’s heart rate at 132, head down.

Sleep: Actually quite strong this week, and the extra hour today was lovely. There was a meme going about on facebook about how today the clocks go back and you get …. Nothing. You get nothing, you are a parent. I accept this for my future, but enjoyed a nice snoozle this morning.

How am I feeling physically? Decent, but still worried about physical fitness without actually doing anything about it. I walk 6K-10K steps a day, and am up and down stairs a lot, so I’m not a couch potato by any means, but I’m certainly not fit at the moment. A colleague commented that I’ve started waddling, and I agree, there is a little bit of a sway to my step. My joints still feel fine, and Spud has shifted up a bit (“lightening”, a real stage in pregnancy apparently), so walking is more comfortable than it had been.

How am I feeling emotionally? Oh my good grief. My post last week about how people think I’m a robot? HA! Oh man, so weepy. So so weepy. And I am not a crier.

Pea brought home a new board game on Thursday night, and wanted to test it out. I had a bit of work to do, and needed to put together a list of gift ideas for the baby shower my sister T. is organizing, which was badly late (and which I was overwhelmed by because who knows what you need for an infant? Not me! Still! Still not prepared, aaaaah). BUT work life balance is important to me, and Pea’s happiness is important to me, and I’d been pretty absentee all week, so I agreed to play. The game said it took about an hour to play. 2.5 hours in, and about midway through the game, I got really tired and freaked out and then cried on the couch for twenty minutes, to the great consternation of Pea.

 Best moment? Pea and I went out yesterday for an anniversary date. We watched a movie in one of those weirdly swanky VIP theatres*, and went out to dinner at the high end bistro down the road from our place. We waltzed into the bistro at 7:15 on a Saturday, inappropriately dressed**, and were seated at the kitchen bar out of sight of any of the properly dressed patrons. It was lovely and fun. The movie was good (Dr. Strange, recommended if you like comic book movies), and sitting at the kitchen bar was actually very neat because we got to watch the whole line, and chat with some of the chefs. I had pushed for us to do something for our anniversary because (1) it has been a hell of a year so far, (2) movies and dinners out will be really hard for a while comparatively, and (3) I’ve been distracted and work focused for the past two weeks and I wanted to carve out time to really focus on Pea. It was delightful.

Medications: Lovenox, 40 mg sub-cutaneous injection nightly. Baby aspirin, 1 pill (81 g) nightly. Prenatal vitamin in the am, iron supplement at lunch, vitamin D and calcium in the evening.

What I miss? My emotional even keel, although I do somewhat think the weepiness is hilarious. Awkward when it upsets Pea, but hilarious.

What I’m looking forward to? We have friends in town next weekend, best friends of Pea from his elementary school days. They like board games and craft beer and walks, all of which we love too. So a few days of R&R with excellent company awaits, despite my being off the craft beer for the mo.

What have I done this week for the pregnancy? I made a gift list for our shower (immediately heavily edited by my sister, thank goodness). I’m feeling a nesting urge a little, so have spent this afternoon washing baby clothes we’ve inherited from friends. I wanted to start sorting them and getting the dresser sorted out in the still-a-boxes-and-heaps-of-random-stuff-disaster that is the “nursery”, but there are honestly too many loads of laundry to do that today***. So instead, once the next load is on, I’ll go see about sorting out some of the boxes in that room that are filled with my office accoutrements.

Milestones? Thirty weeks is another viability milestone, with lungs in relatively good shape now and survival up around 95%, which is reassuring. I’m glad Spud is showing no signs of wishing to encounter the world, but pleased we’re to this mark.

* Recliners! Alcohol! Seat service! No children allowed, though I’d argue drunk adults are almost as big a risk for disrupting a movie experience. We went to a matinee, so it was pretty calm.

** a combo of dinner being a spontaneous decision and us forgetting that we’re not on the West Coast anymore, where jeans that don’t have holes in them is the epitome of dressy.

***Which is amazing: I’m pretty sure Spud can wear a different outfit every day of his/her first six months of life without us buying anything.

2 thoughts on “bump update, part the weepy

  1. rainbowgoblin

    Haha, I just sent you an email (before reading this) in which I mention the volume of <12m clothing! It's really over the top. I've been sorting through it to give away/sell and there are so many things I'm pretty sure we never used.

    Reply
    1. labmonkeyftw Post author

      I am SURE Spud will not be able to get through all of them, although part of it is that we’ve inherited from summer babies, so the cute little sundresses and overall-shorts are not going to work regardless of if we need more clothes. I’ll add to the pile, and then pass it along at the appropriate moment to someone else! They certainly don’t get worn out in this model!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

