bump update, part the next

How far along? Thirty-three weeks and 1 day

Vital stats? +22.3 lbs, +0.3 lbs from last week. But, as my mother-in-law-to-be pointed out: “I think you’ve grown even since I’ve been here”. Definite popping. Feet harder to see.

Sleep: Decent, compared to the anxiety fest of last week, but marred by Spud’s new habit of cramming their butt up under my ribs while I’m lying down, leading to excruciating rib pain and heartburn. I need to prop up more, but also still sleep on my side, and I haven’t found a way to make that comfortable yet. Tums at 3 am is the new normal.

How am I feeling physically? Pretty similar to last week, except I’m more used to it, so I’m feeling less bulky and tired on balance. I have hit several people and doors with my belly, so I’m not used to its size at this point. My belly button is almost flat, which is very strange looking.

How am I feeling emotionally? Quite anxious still, and fuzzy headed. This week the days seem to fly by and I am not accomplishing anything – not even my usual “I made 6% progress on 9 things” not accomplishing, but genuine “two hours have gone by and I can’t point to anything I’ve done but I’ve ostensibly been working this whole time” not accomplishing. I’m not sure if it is fatigue or baby brain or just that I’m pretty overwhelmed right now. I’m on track to manage to meet the bare minimum of deadline-driven tasks and literally nothing else. It will do, if it has to, but I’d like to pull a few other things together.

 Best moment? Our baby shower was this past weekend and it was a lovely afternoon. We got to see many folks we’ve been neglecting, and catch up with them, and my family got to meet some of Bean’s family (which we’ve been trying to accomplish for AGES), and it all went swimmingly. There was a big cake (too big) and a pile of samosas (too many) and delightful treats supplied by my sister and my family. People seemed to have a nice time, and because we’d invited full families, it was nicely chaotic with toddlers literally everywhere. I think, in the end, my aunt did not manage to steal a tiny human, but not from lack of trying.

Medications: Lovenox, 40 mg sub-cutaneous injection nightly. Prenatal vitamin in the am, iron supplement at lunch, vitamin D and calcium in the evening. No more baby aspirin!! I worried I’d be worried, but I’m just relieved to be off one of these things.

What I miss? Mental acuity. Champagne (mimosas at the party). Not having to eat Tums all the time, because, while they are working, they are pretty gross.

What I’m looking forward to? Holiday parties coming up, including a reunion of my grad school friend group for American Thanksgiving this weekend. My course being over (four lectures left!).

What have I done this week for the pregnancy? We had our shower, and received so many lovely things! A crib! A travel crib! So many places to put Spud! My sister found us a stroller and a car seat to borrow from friends, which isn’t ME being productive, but which is productive none the less. She is seriously the best, and has been invaluable in this.

Milestones? Movement is no longer ever ponks and prods, but always full body rolls and shifts. It is distinctly different, and individual body parts are becoming more defined from the outside. Spud is the size of a store-bought loaf of bread, which still seems ridiculously big. Everyone but everyone has commented that you can barely tell I’m pregnant, which I am choosing to interpret as “your face isn’t fat yet”, because I do not look anything but pregnant.

2 thoughts on “bump update, part the next

  1. rainbowgoblin

    Oh, man, reading this I had a vivid memory of the third trimester. There’s this thing that happens the first day after giving birth, where all of the symptoms of late pregnancy disappear, even the ones that you assumed in the back of your mind were just the new normal. The heartburn! Never feeling like your bladder is actually empty! The swollen feet! The mental acuity, sadly, might be gone for good. I’ll let you know in a few years.

    Reply
    1. labmonkeyftw Post author

      The third trimester is not that much fun, it seems. Although baby hiccups are pretty much the best thing ever, and Spud is good enough to get them every day to make it all more bearable (and this is an easy pregnancy, I know).

      Reply

Leave a Reply

