gratitude, tomorrow

I’d like to write a post about the things I’m grateful for, because I’ve been listing them up in my head recently when I find myself reacting automatically negatively.

However, I have only five minutes, and a lab-book style update I want to get down, so I will be grateful tomorrow. Which is a pretty accurate summation of my mental state, really.

I had a consult with the anesthesiologist at the hospital where I will deliver this morning. It was annoyingly slow, but informative (scheduling appointments at 7:30 am when the doctor does not arrive until 9 am never makes sense to me, but this is so routine in hospital departments).

The upshot is:

If I’ve been off the blood thinner for at least 12 hours, ideally 24, then I have whatever options I wish available to me for labour (natural, epidural, c-section, whatever). This is the plan with induction at 39 weeks, and could work out with natural labour starting earlier than 39 weeks depending on the timing of my most recent dose of thinner.

If I have not been off the blood thinner for 12 hours, and/or my blood is not clotting sufficiently yet, then anything that involves puncturing my spinal column is off the table – epidural, and conscious c-section. If a c-section became necessary, I’d be put under general anesthetic.

I am annoyed, and a bit disgruntled. I’d love to be allowed to just wait and see when Spud initiates labour, and avoid an induction. I’m hoping to avoid an epidural or a c-section, but am open to them if they become necessary. I’d be so sad if I had to be put under for the c-section though. This may well be my only birth experience, I’d so much love to be conscious for it. I have no control over this, and thus will take the next few weeks to find some acceptance of these options so I’m not bitterly disappointed if they happen. I have been told to skip my evening dose of thinner if I’ve had an evening or afternoon of feeling weird or crampy – to see how I feel in the morning.

Best case scenario, Spud decides to initiate labour just pre-induction, when I’m already off the thinner. Best worst case scenario is that labour takes so long  that by the time I require intervention, I’ve cleared the thinner regardless (and at that point, I might well want the epidural to offer some respite). Worst case scenario, obviously, is any form of emergency c-section, but especially one where I have to be out cold for it.

Only time will tell, but at least I know what to expect now.  36 weeks tomorrow, so not even that much time!

3 thoughts on “gratitude, tomorrow

  1. rainbowgoblin

    I think your best worst case doesn’t sound so bad: being in labour for more than 12 hours isn’t the same as active labour for 12 hours. I went to work when I was in labour with Miso, stayed all day, and took the ferry/bus home after. Even got Tommy fed, bathed, and put to bed. Admittedly, I was deeply in denial about actually being in labour (when I got to the hospital my contractions were 2 minutes apart and I still expected them to tell me it was a false alarm). So don’t do that: stop taking the blood thinners and distract yourself as well as you can in the early stages.

    Reply
    1. labmonkeyftw Post author

      I agree, and think it’d probably work out ok. I’d have to actually go into labour before 39 weeks though, which is totally possible but not ideal (still gunning for a January baby to avoid Spud being the youngest in their class always). Inductions can take ages, but I won’t really be able to be in denial about what is happening, what with the monitoring and hospital stay. 🙂

      Reply
      1. rainbowgoblin

        It’s true, I appreciated the certainty of induction, especially because I hate being pregnant so much by the end the first time. It wasn’t even so much that I wanted it to be over, it was just a relief to know exactly when it was going to be over (just past 38 weeks, so actually a bit sooner than expected, since I had no idea Tommy would be induced until the day before it happened).

Leave a Reply

