bump update, part the last

How far along? Thirty-eight weeks and 5 days

Vital stats? +27.8 lbs, +0.8 lbs from last week, but with a hilarious spike up to +29.8 lbs right in the middle of the week before my digestive tract decided to function enthusiastically for a few days. I told Pea I had 0.2 lbs I was still willing to gain, and he decided to make sourdough croissants from scratch. 16 of them. Pea is amazing.  From my OB appointment at 38+3, blood pressure at 106/58, so back down towards my normal. I am GBS negative, so angst over antibiotic administration is a moot point, thank goodness. Spud’s heart beat at 130 (old wives’ tales say boy for this low a heart rate, but science says “there is literally no correlation between gender and heart rate at any time in pregnancy” – there was a large-scale study done). Spud remains head down, and positioned correctly for labour. My cervix was soft and 1-2 cm dilated (no stats on thinness though, hmmm), and if constant low-level period-like cramps are a sign of cervix softening/dilation, it’s continued on that line the past few days.

Sleep: Really, really good. I am relishing it now, while I can. Pea and I have shifted to slightly nocturnal, and sleeping in late, but I’ve gotten 8-12 hours of sleep each night since the 23rd, and am feeling substantially more relaxed and rested than I have for pretty much all of 2016. I sleep through the night with no trouble, though I do sometimes have to wake up to roll over. I had one morning where I woke up at 6 am, couldn’t get back to sleep, got up at 7, ate some oatmeal, and promptly fell asleep on the couch from 8-11. We’d had a bit of a sketchy dinner the night before, more of a snack before going out to a movie, so I think I was just hungry.

How am I feeling physically? I am still feeling ok. Spud is now able to kick my ribs and punch my cervix at the same time, which is not super comfortable, and some of their movements are strong enough to be painful now (especially if watching a movie that is too loud and is constantly startling Spud into calisthenics… Rogue One was not the most comfortable two hours of my life). My hand swelling is worst in the mornings – feels like arthritis for a few hours before the water shifts to my feet – but after a few very quiet days, both are getting a bit better. I’m a bit crampy, but still have decent energy. Pea and I spent Wednesday running a bajillion errands and then went to a movie, and I was fine for all of that walking, aside from demanding a smoothie after spending two hours in various electronics stores. I have abdicated from shoveling the past two snow falls, but only because I’m trying to prevent labour from starting, I’d be ok to help otherwise. I still don’t look as pregnant as I am, which is good because my back doesn’t hurt and I haven’t had serious discomfort or stretch marks, etc., but which is a little bit weirdly disappointing because I find pregnant bellies that defy gravity fascinating, and I do not appear to be someone who will sport one.

How am I feeling emotionally? I’m having a really good week. I had two things for work I really needed to get done before having Spud, and I’ve got one submitted and one is what I’m avoiding by writing this! I have started it though, and it won’t take as long as I thought, so I’m feeling ok about my timeline to get it done this morning/early afternoon*. Pea and I have been deliciously lazy all week, with two friend events to break up the quiet a little, and many skypes with various family units to say hi over the holidays. I’m worried about labour, and worried about Pea during labour, and worried about being a parent, and all that, but it will be what it is, and as Pea said yesterday “I don’t think we’ll be the worst parents!”. I am starting to wonder if my “have baby, everyone survives” birth plan should have had more “ideally no epidural, no c-section, etc.” notes, if only in my head. I think it might have helped me mentally prepare, but it is so hard to know what I will be capable of, or able to withstand, or what may or may not go wrong. I’ve left it very abstract in my brain. So, we shall just have to see.

Best moment? Pea and I making elaborate recipes all week. Seeing old friends for the first time in ages. Morning snuggles and conversations with coffee and tea in bed every “morning” (once Pea wakes up… typically not quite morning anymore). Getting the nursery properly mucked out and organized, finally! Pea starting to freak out about being a parent, as of Thursday when we had the induction scheduled. He’s quiet about it, but he’s definitely chewing on it, which I think is adorable.

Medications: Lovenox, 40 mg sub-cutaneous injection nightly, to end tonight until instructed to go back on it post-partum. Prenatal vitamin in the am, iron supplement at lunch, vitamin D and calcium in the evening. Zantac not needed in the past week or so. I don’t know how many of these supplements I will keep up. I might stick with all of them for a bit, as I’m likely to be a bit anemic post-birth, and I’m on the calcium/D regimen because of the blood thinner, which I’ll be on til 6 weeks post-partum.

What I miss? My family, and Pea’s family, as we’d usually see at least some of them over the holidays. However, I would not have traded this quiet week for the world – I can miss them without being remotely interested in traveling to see them.

What I’m looking forward to? Meeting Spud, I’m so excited to see this tiny creature. I am so hopeful things will go well.

What have I done this week for the pregnancy? I turned the nursery into an actual nursery. I put away the last of the new arrival baby clothing, all sorted by size but nothing else, in drawers for anything 3 months or smaller, and boxes for anything bigger. Pea installed the car seat base in our car, and learned how to install the car seat into a cab for coming home from the hospital. We packed hospital bags:
Me: “Want to help pick out some outfits for the hospital for Spud? I grabbed these ones from the drawers, but it’s too many.”
Pea: holds up newborn onesie “This is ridiculous, there is no way Spud is that small. Look at how small this is.”
Me: “Yah, so I packed a few 0-3 month ones too, like this one.”
Pea: boggling “How is that bigger? These are so tiny!!”

Milestones? I am at most two days away from birth! I think that’s a hell of a milestone. It is the last day of 2016, and I survived, and so did Spud, and so did Pea. I am proud of all of us.

 

* Yes I did leave some important work til the 24 hours before inducing labour. In my defense, it is very very boring work.

One thought on “bump update, part the last

  1. rainbowgoblin

    Oh! Pea during labour! A very useful bit of advice we were given was to have someone on hand to get food for Steffen, or anything else he needed. Our dear, dear friend brought him a pizza, of which I ate an unreasonably large quantity almost immediately post-C, and was very grateful. Pretty sure Steffen wouldn’t have been still standing to welcome Tommy into the world without that pizza.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

