Milestones

They, whoever they are, seem to universally point to the six week mark as a turning point, where things get easier. They, for us, at least, were right.

This past week:

  • We went out to dinner with Spud in tow. Spud looked at everything with interest, and fell asleep in the car seat before our food arrived. Pea and I had an adult conversation. Also delicious burgers.
  • I had my final OB checkup and was cleared for activity. I am very feeble, so this is a good and necessary thing
  • I had a day where I had a shower, went grocery shopping, did a load of laundry, and made dinner. I felt like I approached a normal functioning human (and, while nursing Spud waiting for Pea to get home from work, with a chicken roasting in the oven and a load of laundry tumbling around, like the 1950s might demand their era back). I do not identify with the role of housewife… even though that role comes in so many forms and genders and mine is most certainly a partnership.
  • Spud has a definite sleep schedule. It sucks, but it is regular. Now to get to longer than two hour stretches*
  • Spud had an early first nap/leisurely lie-in post-diaper change this morning. Pea and I used his uncharacteristic return to the basinette to get our groove on for the first time post-partum. No pain, good time had by all, and a welcome return to our Saturday tea and coffee and snuggles routine.
  • Spud started smiling just today, at seven weeks on the nose. It is the absolute best, holy crap
  • Spud also, just today, got his chest up during tummy time. He’s been able to lift his head for ages, but often doesn’t choose to – he doesn’t mind being on his stomach much, so tummy time as a calisthenic exercise has proven challenging.
  • Spud just, right now, has stayed asleep when I put him in his baby box to help Pea take the old dishwasher to the curb. He has not done this since he was two weeks old. Added to the unprecedented basinette nap this morning and he’s either still exhausted from his cold and/or learning to smile, or he’s also gained a bit of sleep independence. We shall see. Oh, never mind, he’s up. Ha.
  • I got a nifty silicon suction doodad that has replaced pumping at the moment, and is SO much easier. I just suction it to the boob I’m not nursing on for the wee hours second feed, it drains my let-down, et voila! 1.5-2 oz captured. Rinse the doodad** and use once more later in the morning for another, creamier ounce, and Pea’s evening bottle is done! Hands free, one easy piece to wash.

There have been some challenges still. I’m not getting enough sleep by far. Spud caught his first cold, and two days later I caught Spud’s cold. Mucousy days, and advent of the suction bulb. The day I was feverish was very hard and fractious. Spud was in good spirits at that point, but I was running thin. He’s mostly mended, and I’m left with a runny nose. We still have thrush, or something. The antifungal is not proving terrifically effective. In general though, things are certainly looking up.
* Spud falls asleep between 11:30 and midnight after cluster feeding from 8 pm onwards, with a bottle and usually a cat nap in there. He wakes up at 2 am, back down at 2:20. Up at 4, back down at 4:30-4:45 depending on diaper change. Up at 6, back down at 6:30, but often on me. If on me, asleep quietly til 8:30-9. If in basinette, grunting, whining, flailing, and up every hour at minimum.

** it is the Haakaa or similar spelling. It really is a doodad by every definition though, albeit a significantly useful one!

4 thoughts on “Milestones

    1. labmonkeyftw Post author

      My Dr. is unconvinced we have thrush and so would only give me a script.. no baby nystatin. Is gentian violet worth the mess? I’ve used it in the lab for protein gels and it is an unholy mess, I can only imagine when in a baby’s mouth!

      Reply
      1. Jenny F. Scientist

        Short version: no. It seems to be fungistatic, rather than fungicidal, so you have to re-apply it like ten times a day, and contrary to what it says, it NEVER comes out of clothing. I never actually got rid of thrush with GV; maybe it would work for a mild case, but by the time it was ‘I cry every time the baby nurses’, it was ineffective.

        Did the doctor give you fluconazole or nystatin? Because if you’re thrush-y enough to take fluconazole… the baby is thrush-y enough to use some nystatin (it’s pretty darn harmless too).

        Anyhow, good luck. (FUCKING THRUSH.)

Leave a Reply

