Slow down, you move too fast.

Last weekend I got out the bags and boxes marked “3-6 mo” to rummage out some sleepers that would fit Spud. He had outgrown the feet in almost all the 0-3 mo, and just straight up didn’t fit many of them. This weekend I’m going to swap out all the clothes, as some of the 3-6 mo ones are fitting nicely/almost snugly. Spud will be two months old mid next week.

Last night we moved the basinette out and the crib in. Spud slept pretty well. He had a hard time settling after his first wake up around 2am. He has discovered his hands and sucks on them really noisily both awake and asleep right now, often hitting himself in the face and waking up, so that is annoying. (He haaaaaates being swaddled, we’ve tried). After two rounds of doze-face palm-cry-soothe, I took him to bed intending to snuggle him til he was a bit more asleep and try again, but then dozed off with him on me for two hours (I was aware this was happening but too dozey to want to get up). Spud slept all his other stretches in the crib with no issues.

He is still so little but also so big! My inaccurate scale says he weighs 13.7 lbs (with a cloth diaper on). I was unexpectedly emotional putting him in the crib. I know him getting bigger is the goal, and that easier times will come with this growth, but it is hard to believe his tiny self has changed so much.

To continue the post title, you’ve got to make the moment last*.
* apparently the correct lyrics are “make the morning last” but that is not what I have sung for the past 20 years, so…

4 thoughts on “Slow down, you move too fast.

  1. Turia

    Huh. I also thought it was moment!

    FWIW, as a newborn E loathed having his hands being swaddled but when he was a bit older he needed them tucked away for exactly this reason. Our issue was mostly with naps but we ended up swaddling him for those for two or three months.

    It is bittersweet that they get so big so quickly but they are so much fun when they become little people!

    Reply
  2. rainbowgoblin

    So fast! I can’t wait for my kids to grow up because I want to see what they’ll be like at every age, and simultaneously want them to JUST STOP already, they’re supposed to still be 6 weeks old. It’s all amazing!

    Reply
    1. labmonkeyftw Post author

      It is! Although at this rate Spud will be taller than me by the time he is five.. I know rate of growth slows down, but he’s a monster. He has Saint Bernard-style feet and hands that he is steadily growing into!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

