This ain’t no April fool

Spud is three months old today! I have decided to buy a baby book for him, to ensure I actually record his various milestones. I wasn’t going to, but I loved reading my baby book when I was eight or ten – fascinated by the tiny person I used to be – and I want him to have that too.

In the meantime, this blog is and will remain my spot for me, but it is at heart a lab book, so I thought I’d start logging some lab book entries about Spud.

This month was one of gradual changes, rather than big leaps forward. Some notes, from head to toe.

  • Spud’s baby hair has started to fall out, in sync with my own post-partum hair loss starting. He’s got new little hairs coming in, so he might not ever be bald. We’ll see! I need to cut a lock before it all sheds
  • I’ve been treating his scalp with olive oil before baths for some cradle cap, which makes him smell lightly like salad
  • He is better and better with eye contact, and from further distances as his eyes mature. He still gets tired or spaces out after a bit – best moments are in the morning or after he’s properly woken up from a nap
  • Spud learned to smile at seven weeks, but has been smilier and smilier as this month progressed. He has a full body wiggle smile that is ridiculously adorable. He’s not at big gummy smiles quite yet, but they are getting bigger. He likes to be smiled at, cooed at, and funny faces. He’s warming up to belly raspberries and other odd sounds, but mostly just looks shocked 
  • Spud got chatty! He’d been cooing, but has added in a few consonants (“a-boo”, “guh-goo”, “ba-rrroooo”). He and Pea have long conversations back and forth, whereas I get daily chats on the change table. Just this week he started blowing raspberries with his lips, but I’m not sure he’s in control of that quite yet
  • Spud sucks on his fingers, but mostly just when self-soothing before naps or bed. He discovered his tongue, and spends a fair amount of time chewing on it or sucking on his lips. He has been a drool monster for the past ten days, so much so that he’s sporting bibs fairly often. He doesn’t really put anything else in his mouth yet
  • We’re still not sure if he’s turning to sound. He seems to track his dad’s voice, but is uninterested in locating the source of rattles or even loud startling noises – he reacts, we know he’s not deaf. He will look up at me, to the correct side, if I make a funny big deep voice when reading a book. This one has shifted in the last day or two – I’m more confident he’s looking to sound, but it’s not consistent
  • Spud’s neck control is really strong. He’s so much more stable than he used to be! He can get his chest off the ground in tummy time if he’s interested, but shows no signs of rolling as of yet. He does think it’s fun when I roll him over while playing
  • He discovered his hands! Hands are good for sucking on, spinning the side pieces of his wooden play structure, and batting at overhead toys. His hands are relaxed much more often now. He pats and strokes my breast while nursing, which is a nice change from the thudding/whaling with his fist he was doing before gaining a bit more control. He is interested in grabbing, but really terrible at it, as he clenches his hand in the effort to locate the object. He’s caught his o-ball turtle a few times, and an overhead tag toy. He is in the beginning of Leap 3, developing smooth movement and depth perception, so I’m curious to see if this changes quickly once through the leap
  • His grasp is strong, and my hair, glasses, and shirts all get pulled daily. He’s pulled my glasses off several times now, but he’s not usually looking when he does it – this will only get worse once he’s directedly grabbing! His favourite game is to hold our fingers and pull up to sitting. He will have stronger abs than me soon (under his rolls). He is so serious and determined, and then looks around (semi-bobbleheadedly) from this new, higher perspective
  • Spud gained an appreciation for books, and will attentively listen and look while I read. Last month I really felt like reading was more for me than him. The Brown Bear series are a favourite, with big colourful pages
  • His digestion has been better, either because of the probiotics or because I’d cut milk and soy for long enough, or because I cut chocolate. I ate some chocolate yesterday to test, and will test dairy and soy soon, slowly
  • This month Spud started kicking with purpose, and loves kicking the arms of his play mat to make everything bounce. He likes kicking against new textures, and will kick delightedly to songs and in the bath. His legs are strong – he can support his weight for brief moments, and often tries to climb up me when resisting a nap
  • Spud’s feet remain his fastest growing aspect. He’s in 9-12 month sleepers now because his feet outgrew all of the smaller ones. They fit surprisingly well in general, and we’ve moved him into 9 month onesies for the added length. Sweaters are still smaller sizes, and pants are a total crap-shoot with cloth diapers and what seems like really erratic sizing
  • With greater awareness came the loss of easy naps. He still naps 3-4 times a day, for 45 min – 1.5 hours, usually on me or in a carrier, but the swing works in a pinch, and the car seat in a fast-moving car is a guaranteed nap (while stop-start traffic is a guaranteed meltdown). He needs a quieter space for naps now, which makes it more important I transition him to the crib. I think he’s ready, but we’ve been working on earlier bedtimes and I wanted to protect daytime sleep during that
  • This month we moved Spud’s bedtime up from eleven thirty to ten, and then daylight savings time set us back again. This week we’ve concertedly tried to get him down earlier, with bedtime starting around 8. He’s gone down between 8:30-9 four nights in a row now, and last night he didn’t pop up again – down from 9 pm til 4:20! I think he still wants to go to bed earlier, but hasn’t managed it yet – he resists if it is earlier than 8 right now despite clearly being tired. We added white noise to the room, which I’m not sure is making any difference to Spud, as he is asleep when put down, but it helps me get back to sleep! Pea hates it but is getting used to it
  • Pea and Spud made great strides with bottles – he will now take one without a half hour of screaming, though he tends to snack in one ounce portions (but will drain a full boob if given the chance). It’s like he’s willing to take a bottle to take the edge off, but once not properly hungry he loses interest and just chews on the nipple while babbling around it
  • Spud remains easy-going. He’s happy to be held by anyone, and is content to hang out in the bouncy chair or on a playmat while we make dinner and sometimes even while we eat. He’ll hang out bundled up in his towel on the bathmat in the bathroom while I take a quick shower after we’ve had a bath, though it does need to be quick. He mostly only cries when he’s hungry, aside from his tired cry, which is just yelling. He’s gotten scared a few times this month, and that is an entirely different level of crying – it is rare for us to see tears

He is making gains, and growing like a weed. I spend a lot of time worried he’s behind, but he usually cracks whatever it is I’m concerned about within a week or two of me getting worried (right now it is grabbing… and sound still). He is healthy and happy and generally delightful, and he makes a neurotic mama’s life easier by being relatively uncomplicated and unfussy. His different cries are very distinct, making it easy to figure out what he needs. He’s fun to have around, so I think we’ll keep him. 🙂

3 thoughts on “This ain’t no April fool

  1. Jenny F. Scientist

    When Bug was little I dug up a percentile chart of developmental milestones because the usual age given is 50th percentile, so… half of children will be later​. Data is so soothing.

    Reply
    1. labmonkeyftw Post author

      AHH, they ARE all 50th percentile! WHY would that be what is reported? AHHHHHH.
      Thanks. Also, Spud starting grasping toys and open-hand batting things, and is generally hitting all his marks now, one day after I freaked out a bit.

      Reply
      1. Jenny F. Scientist

        Well! If you look at ACTUAL screening tools, they basically have a 10th percentile red flag/intervention value. And it’s not for ONE thing, like ‘my three year old refuses to use a fork but will use a spoon fine, because, three’, it’s for X plus Y plus Z from very well-defined categories. So it turns out (I learned as I read all of these things, because whyyyyy do they report 50th percentile???) even if a kid isn’t doing ONE thing, as long as they seem to be progressing in general Baby Skills in that department (speech, receptive language, gross and fine motor) then there’s almost never a cause for concern. (A friend’s ped tried to send her for assessment because her 3yo literally refused to use a spoon. But he could spear stuff on a fork fine and was running and kicking balls and drawing and…. more than one thing, dude.)

Leave a Reply

